Rick Ross and His ‘Jesus Pieces’: A Man of Faith, Or of Fashion?

Rick Ross "God Forgives. I Don't" CD cover

Rick Ross “God Forgives. I Don’t” CD cover

If wearing Jesus pieces (aka charms traditionally worn on necklaces hanging on rappers’ necks) signifies one’s faith in Christ, then “GOD Forgives I Don’t” rapper Rick Ross must be a super saint. Rick Ross is most certainly not the first rapper to wear Jesus pieces, but I haven’t really noticed many other rappers take it to such…excess. I’m just saying — what’s up with all those blinged-out Jesus pieces? Ross, who supposedly used to rep Islam, also put out a song titled “Ten Jesus Pieces” (from what I gather is purely a jewelry reference) and a mixed tape titled “Black Bar Mitzvah” … me think someone might be confused.

Apparently, some music fans aren’t too sure either:

(@thepharaohNES) tweeted: “Rick Ross is religiously confused he wears 10 Jesus pieces, raps like a Muslim, & titles his new mixtape after a Jewish tradition lol idiot.”

Drew Makes Beats tweeted: “I bet everytime Rick Ross says ‘Lord’ ‘Pray’ ‘God’ ‘Holy’ …anything like that… Jesus is just like ‘dawg… I said stop… please…’

Before Ross’s “God Forgives…” album came out over the summer, the MC spoke with MTV about his mindset on putting the disc together.

What he said of the title:

“I knew approaching this album, I wanted to approach titling it a lot different from previous albums. I wanted it to be strong and impactful. The first half is God Forgives: It’s a lot of us need forgiveness. I Don’t represented the street aspect of life. I feel we have both sides that we deal with in life. I gave ’em one of those feelings that it was a motion picture, a masterpiece, five-star.”

What Ross said about the album art:

“We actually used a church to shoot some photos in. I remember sitting in the church just waiting for the photographer, and I remember sitting in there praying, just being thankful. I knew I wanted to have 10 Jesus pieces on. Of course, one Jesus piece was always fly, but I just wanted 10. I just wanted to go to that next level.”

And if this helps things any, DaSouth.com Christian hip-hop publication spoke with Ross in 2009 about his faith, and he said on tape that he “puts Jesus first.” But this is what DaSouth had to say, in 2012, when sharing the interview:

Ross says “I put Jesus first [in my life], ya feel me?” They speak as if to be disciples for Christ, saying Jesus was amongst the lost, and that they tell the truth about the harsh realities of life. They feel as if they are being wrongly judged, and that people should look at their actions and not their words.

In light of Rick Ross’ new song “Holy Ghost,” we can’t help to see that he has taken deeper steps into darkness since this interview three years ago. We are not here to judge William Leonard Roberts II (Rick’s real name) by any means, but to show the fans who idolize these rappers that they are being used to lead them into disaster. Open your eyes people.

I looked at the lyrics to “Holy Ghost”… God have mercy. Apparently, Rick Ross is just following the trend…or maybe “the illuminati” is responsible for all the overtly anti-God lyrics and confusion coming through the popular music nowadays.

This war for the souls and the minds of those made in God’s image is at a critical point.

Get it together, Rick Ross, the love of money is the root of all evil. Those Jesus pieces might be the death of you. God does indeed forgive…while we’re still alive. “… if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved” (Romans 10:9.

3 responses

  1. […] Rick Ross and His ‘Jesus Pieces’: A Man of Faith, Or of Fashion? (christculturenews.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Rick Ross and His ‘Jesus Pieces’: A Man of Faith, Or of Fashion? (christculturenews.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Rick Ross and His ‘Jesus Pieces’: A Man of Faith, Or of Fashion? […]

What's your take?

